Facebook has introduced a ‘Manage Activity’ feature that enables user to batch delete posts they no longer wish people to see on their Facebook feed. The feature includes filters to enable users to delete posts between certain dates, or involving certain people.
A release announcing the move suggests the feature is being launched to make it easier for users to remove potentially embarrassing posts that might do them no favours if, say a prospective employer were to check out their Facebook feed.
It said: “Whether you’re entering the job market after college or moving on from an old relationship, we know things change in people’s lives, and we want to make it easy for you to curate your presence on Facebook to more accurately reflect who you are today.”
Manage Activity also allows users to move posts they no longer want to the trash. Posts sent to the trash will stay there for 30 days before being deleted unless the user chooses to manually delete or restore them before then. This gives users “some wiggle room” in case they change their mind about deleting old posts.
Manage Activity will launch initially on mobile, and will be available on desktop and Facebook Lite in the future.