Uber has updated its Community Guidelines to better reflect the company’s new initiative, which focuses on safety and respect for all. Starting with riders in the US and Canada, the new Community Guidelines will be summarized on a full screen that users must agree to, or they could lose full access to Uber.
With Ratings-based Rider Deactivations, riders may now also lose access to Uber is their rating falls below a certain point, meaning they have been either disrespectful or challenging to transport for the Uber driver. Before a rider permanently loses their access to the service, Uber will give the rider multiple warnings and tips on how to improve their ratings.
“Respect is a two-way street, and so is accountability. Drivers have long been expected to meet a minimum rating threshold which can vary city to city. While we expect only a small number of riders to ultimately be impacted by ratings-based deactivations, it’s the right thing to do,” said Kate Parker, head of safety brand and initiatives.
To help promote the new Community Guidelines, Uber will also be launching an educational campaign which uses in-app messages, emails, and signage to make both riders and drivers aware of the new rules.