Airship

WhatsApp update allows users to leave groups silently

David Murphy

Meta has rolled out a trio of new privacy features for WhatsApp. They will enable users to leave groups privately, without notifying other members; only the admin will be notified. Users will also be able to choose who can see when they are online so that they can access WhatsApp messages privately. Both these features will be rolled out this month. The final change is the ability to block screenshots for View Once messages. This feature is currently being tested and will be rolled out “soon”.

Meta is launching a global campaign to educate users about the new features, starting in the UK and India,  

“At WhatsApp, we’re focused on building product features that empower people to have more control and privacy over their messages,” said Ami Vora, Head of Product at WhatsApp. “Over the years, we’ve added interlocking layers of protection to help keep their conversations secure, and the new features is (sic) one way we continue to deliver on our commitment to keep messages private. No other global messaging service at this scale provides this level of security for their users’ messages, media, voice messages, video calls, and chat backups.”

In his Facebook post announcing the changes, Meta CEO Mark Zuckerberg wrote: “
We'll keep building new ways to protect your messages and keep them as private and secure as face-to-face conversations.